So Many Books in My Life

I have been gently prodded and pushed in to starting a blog on my love of books mainly by my daughter, Marissa Farrar, a writer herself, that I feel I must give it a go but as my favourite author, Stephen King,  would say, “Be kind to me gentle reader” as I take my first steps forward.

I have been reading since I was a little girl, which is a thousand years ago, first on my Nana´s knee with her reading to me and then me reading to her.  The image in my memories is so vivid that I feel that was the start of a love affair with the written story that will be with me I hope for many years to come.

But now for a few of my favourite novels that have resonated in my life.

As I have previously said my favourite author is Stephen King.  I have read every novel except Cujo and Pet Cemetary.  The reasons for this is that I could not stand the thought of an animal being hurt.  Stupid perhaps but that is the way I am.  Have I missed out King fans or not?  The best in my opinion are The Shining and The Stand both of which I have read and re-read several times.  I do love a “big novel” which takes me on a journey and hopefully frightens me along the way.

In recent years I have discovered many new authors via friends´ recommendations and reviews, I will in this first blog just mention a couple of authors and their books which have made a mark on me.

Firstly, Jo Jo Moyes.  I had never read anything from this author but was introduced to her by a friend with Me Before You.  What a beautiful story which drew me in from the first paragraph.  I was hooked and when I had the opportunity to review The One Plus One by Love Reading I grabbed the chance with both hands.  I was blown away with this wonderful love story but not just that, there was the side story of a teenage boy who is different.  Once I finished I wanted to start all over again and not put it down.  Jo Jo you have a fan here.

The next author whom I have discovered this year is Lisa Jewell.  What a funny compelling author, I have a few more to read yet (isn´t it a joy when you discover a new author and have a backlog of his/her books to read) but my favourite must be Vince and Joy.  A teenage couple fall in love but will they ever become a couple in the years that follow.  If you want a good feel read on a wet winter afternoon or that one book to take on holiday, you must read Vince and Joy.

Well that is it for today.  My first baby steps.  Next time I will be looking at psychological thrillers and the e-book versus the paperback/hard cover.

 

8 comments

  1. I’ve just discovered Jojo Moyes too. A guest left “Me Before You” in one of the motel units and I cried in a way I haven’t since Captain Corellis Mandolin! Pet Cemetery creeped me out so much I haven’t picked up a Stephen King book since 🙂

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging, Glynis. Very much enjoyed reading your first post, and am so pleased that you are going to branch out into stuff other than books as well.

  3. Glyn I think this venue is the perfect tool to show your talent in writing, I too love Stephen King and I can see where Marissa gets her extraordinary talent.
    I love books too, although I must say love reading stories as I use the kindle now. Cant wait to read your next blog

  4. Found my way over from Mrs. M’s. I have to agree with Reetah in that Pet Cemetary put me off Steven King for a LONG while. I had a toddler at the time I was reading it, and the tragedy that occurred to the toddler in the book gave me nightmares. I have gone back to reading him occasionally, though I haven’t read nearly all.

Leave a Reply

